24.2 C
Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Panel set to form new assembly segments proposed 6 new seats in Jammu, one in Kashmir

The Delimitation Commission, set up to redraw the assembly seats of Jammu and Kashmir, is learnt to have proposed six additional seats for Jammu region and one for Kashmir Valley in its ‘Paper 1’ discussed with its five associate members on Monday.

Nine seats have been proposed for STs and seven for SCs in Jammu and Kashmir, a source-based report said.

This is the first time that seats have been proposed for STs in Jammu and Kashmir, the report said.

The associate members — five Lok Sabha or lower house of Indian Parliament members from Jammu and Kashmir — attended the meeting. They have been asked to respond to the proposal by the end of this month.

Jitendra Singh, Jammu-based leader of BJP and minister in the Narendra Modi cabinet and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah were among those who attended the meeting.

The Delimitation Commission is headed by former Indian Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai.

Indian Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra is an ex-officio member of the panel.

Latest news

Please email your videos, stories and opinions to [email protected] and we will publish the selected ones on our news portal.

Related news