21.1 C
Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Imran Khan picks ‘dark horse’ and Poonch-resident Niazi to be Prime Minister of Pakistan-administered Kashmir

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan on Wednesday nominated Tehreek-e-Insaaf lawmaker Abdul Qayyum Niazi as the next premier of Pakistan-administered Kashmir.

Niazi won the recent legislative assembly election from Abbaspur-Poonch area.

Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf secured 32 seats in the 53-member House. It is for the first time that the Imran Khan’s party will form a government in PaK.

Pakistan’s Minister for Information Fawad Chaudhry tweeted that Prime Minister Khan picked Niazi to lead the PTI government in PaK after extensive consultations.

“After a long consultation and review of suggestions, the Prime Minister of Pakistan and Chairman PTI Imran Khan has nominated the newly elected MLA Mr Abdul Qayyum Niazi for the post of Prime Minister” of PaK, he wrote.

The minister also termed Qayyum as “a dynamic and genuine political activist, dedicated to his workers”.

Khan had interviewed several elected members on Friday and Saturday, including Sardar Tanvir Ilyas, Barrister Sultan Mahmood, Khawaja Farooq, Azhar Sadiq and Niazi.

He reportedly asked them about the strategy and views on environment, tourism and national and international issues.

A majority of experts said that Ilyas and Sultan Mahmood were the top contenders and among them most of them agreed that Ilyas was the favourite. But Niazi proved a dark horse to get the top slot though he was hardly noticed.

Niazi was a member of the All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference before leaving it to join the PTI two years ago. He was also elected from the platform of the Muslim Conference in 2006 and has also served as the Minister of Food.

The Pakistan People’s Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) have 12 and 7 seats, respectively in the House. Both All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference and Jammu Kashmir Peoples Party won one seat each.

The ruling party’s candidates Anwarul Haq and Riaz Gujjar have been elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker, respectively.

Latest news

Please email your videos, stories and opinions to [email protected]kashmir.com and we will publish the selected ones on our news portal.

Related news