21.1 C
Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Five Kashmir districts placed in ‘red zone’ for Covid-19 containment

Five districts were placed in the ‘red category’ as the Jammu and Kashmir State Executive Committee on Saturday came out with a fresh classification of the districts effective from May 31 for Covid containment.

Pulwama and Anantnag in south Kashmir, and Baramulla and Kupwara in north and Budgam in central Kashmir have been put in the ‘red zone’ along with the areas on either side of the Jawahar Tunnel, the gateway to the valley, an order issued by Chief Secretary B V R Subrahmanyam said.

Lakhanpur containment zone on the Jammu-Pathankot highway with a buffer of 500 meter radius has also been categorised in the red zone. Lakhanpur in Kathua district of Jammu province serves as the gateway to the union territory bordering Punjab.

The summer capital Srinagar, which had remained in the red zone throughout this month amid a spike in COVID-19, has been placed in the ‘orange category’ along with Shopian, Ganderbal, Kulgam and Bandipora in the valley, besides all the 10 districts of Jammu province. No area has been placed in the ‘green category’.

Latest news

Please email your videos, stories and opinions to [email protected] and we will publish the selected ones on our news portal.

Related news